31 Mar 2014

AAP to contest all four seats in Himachal Pradesh

Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has decided to contest all four seats in Himachal Pradesh. Having already fielded candidates from Kangra and Hamirpur parliamentary seats, AAP will announce candidates for remaining Mandi and Shimla seats shortly as names are already under consideration, thus making the contest triangular in all four seats.

AAP's state convener Des Raj Sharma said that announcement of candidates for the remaining two seats is expected in next couple of days as names for probable candidates are already with the national leadership. So far AAP has fielded sitting BJP MP Rajan Sushant from Kangra and Kargil martyr Vikram Batra's mother Kamal Kanta Batra from Hamirpur.

Sharma said that campaigning would gain momentum in Himachal Pradesh after April 15 with the arrival of national leaders including Arvind Kejriwal, Yogender Yadav, Kumar Vishwas, Manish Sisodia, Sanjay Singh, Gopal Rai and Gul Panag.
Traditionally, parliamentary elections in Himachal Pradesh have remained a contest between two arch rivals Congress and BJP. There is no formidable regional party in the state and other national parties too have a nominal existence. While Congress and BJP are busy holding public meetings and big rallies, AAP candidates and cadre in the state so far have been relying on road shows and small meetings with votes.

You May Also Like


Popular Posts